Northern Cascades National Park


August 28th through the 30th, 2011

From the HU meeting I was heading for Seattle, with the plan to stay with the Mill’s for a few days. They were at the HU meet as well, and asked that I didn’t show up right away (which I totally understood). I decided to head for the the Northern Cascades, planning on doing some hiking for a day to pass some time.

I admit to getting a little lost heading south from Nakusp,

IMG_6628

Not that being lost was really a problem. South was south, after all.

Just north of the USA/Canada border I found a little ice cream place and decided to use up some of my remaining Canadian funds

IMG_6632

IMG_6631

It was cheap for ice cream, and delicious.  A bit further down the road I found a sign

IMG_6642

It sounded like a good idea so I pulled over and hiked up the hill and onto the trail.

IMG_6636

I wasn’t sure what the falls were, or how far they were down the trail. I found these –

IMG_6639IMG_6640

but wasn’t sure if that was what I was looking for. I hiked on, running into a couple walking the other way. They said the trail got worse further on, and they gave up when they reached a cave since they didn’t have flashlights.

I was starting to think the falls I had already seen were all there was on the trail, but hiked on a bit further.

IMG_6638

About here I turned around and headed back for the road. The walk had been short but I felt better after the exercise, I didn’t get off the bike enough lately.

The border was only another 15 minutes down the road. Into the USA I wandered west along small roads, but it wasn’t long before I decided I wasn’t going to make the National Park that day.

IMG_6644

Still, the scenery was nice, and I found a state park to camp in. They had showers, which was nice, and a very nice view –

IMG_6648

The next day I headed for the park again, enjoying blue skies, nice weather, odd towns and funny signs.

IMG_6655IMG_6657

I reached the park, enjoying a scenic byway

IMG_6660IMG_6664

the views were awesome, it seemed like it had been a while since I was in the mountains, though it really hadn’t been. I just like mountains.

IMG_6666IMG_6669IMG_6672

Yup, that’s snow. I was pretty high, being in the Cascades and everything. I went over a high pass and saw Diablo Lake

IMG_6684

which was made by a dam, but is glacier fed, which is why it has that awesome blue color (glacier flour, bits of mineral suspended in the water). I decided while here that I would go to the next campground and find a site. Once the site was set up I found a hiking trail and took off along it.

IMG_6691IMG_6694IMG_6696IMG_6714IMG_6699

After hiking for a little more than a hour I turned back to the campground. I saw a ranger program explaining part of the parks ecosystem before turning in and sleeping soundly.

In the morning I packed up and headed further through the park. I found Diablo Dam

IMG_6720IMG_6722

and some waterfalls

IMG_6733

The Visitor center was at the western edge of the park, and I rolled in to get a passport stamp and look at displays.

IMG_6734IMG_6737IMG_6739

Blue chatted with the slug for a while, I think he was trying to get it into a game of tag.

Next up was Seattle, the Space Needle and a shower. Not in that order.

This entry was posted in Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

