Oaxaca Mexico


October 14th and 15th, 2011

Oaxaca is an amazing town. I got a hotel near the city center, after wandering around some. I picked it in no small part for the ease of getting back out of town, still a bit sensitive from Mexico City.

IMG_8294IMG_8293

The hotel was nice. The garage was in the basement, I was on the 2nd (top) floor. The courtyard was open, and there were stairs to the roof (that were closed off).

I had decided to stay two days in Oaxaca, since the town immediately struck me as the sort of town I had pictured when I pictured traveling in Mexico.

IMG_8272

The clown always had a huge crowd. It was mostly jokes, sadly, and my Spanish wasn’t up to it.

I spent some time walking around. Found the library –

IMG_8268IMG_8270

Yup, and fountain, and also open to the air. But there was something going on and I didn’t go in.

It was the weekend and there was a festival or talent contest going on.

IMG_8277

There was another old church, but when I was there (in the evening) there was a service going on so I didn’t want to walk around and take pictures, but I did take some.

IMG_8273IMG_8276

After watching some of the talent show, I called it a night and headed back to the hotel. Before going to sleep I learned about Oaxaca’s Mole’s (a type of sauce) and decided to try and find some the next day.

The I was looking for was Mole Negro “…thick and rich. It also includes chocolate, as well as chili peppers, onions, garlic and more, but what makes it distinct is the addition of a plant called hoja santa. (thanks Wikipedia)”

IMG_8301

It doesn’t look like much. It tasted okay, nothing special. That is a hunk of chicken underneath.

After lunch I wandered around more. There isn’t anything like a shopping mall, but there were little buildings (houses maybe) with courtyards, and there were stores.

IMG_8306

Of course, there were all sorts of stores

IMG_8278

Shoes?

IMG_8279

Domino’s as a sit down? Weird. I didn’t eat there. There was a huge line in front of a little stand selling fresh potato chips. I mean really fresh.

IMG_8309IMG_8310

The red sauce was some of sort of chili. Anyway it was delicious. I should have gotten a bigger bag.

The next day I would ride into the heart of original Mexico, the Chipas, where the population was still mostly indigenous, deep in the mountains.

IMG_8307

Good to know.

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

