Ingapirca


November 22nd and 23rd, 2011

I left Banos and headed back into the mountains, making my way generally towards the Peru border.

IMG_9035

Of course, the scenery wasn’t all giant Jesuses

IMG_9036IMG_9040

Another moto traveler stopped when I was on the side of the road taking pictures, and suggested a visit to Ingapirca. Actually, he assumed that was where I was heading and gave me a dozen brochures. He also suggested a place to stay that was nearby.

IMG_9038

It’s a good thing the picture of the building was on the cover, since that was the only way I found the place. The road to Ingapirca isn’t exactly a main road, and this place was in something I would call an alley. But it was a small farming town and the alley’s didn’t seem all that bad. The view was nice.

IMG_9042IMG_9045IMG_9047

This far into the middle of nowhere no one spoke English, but we still got everything figured out, and I got dinner and breakfast.

Ingapirca is called the Machu Picchu of Ecuador. It seems an Inca king died, leaving two sons behind. The elder took over, but the younger thought he could run an empire too and set off north along the coast. After a few years of bloody battles the transplanted Incans settled down, and these are the largest collection of their ruins in the country.

IMG_9052

To be completely honest, not that impressive.

Entrance to the site included visiting a small museum, though it was entirely in Spanish so I probably didn’t get as much out of it as I could have.

IMG_9054IMG_9056IMG_9057

I did get that all the artifacts were recovered locally. There was also a small display of the native people.

IMG_9058IMG_9059

The woman in the house looked real enough to make me double take.

But I wasn’t here for the museum, so I headed off to the ruins. Guides were available but it took seconds to find out none of them spoke English, and I was left to wander on my own.

IMG_9062IMG_9064

And there were Llamas

IMG_9068

Everyone has heard about Incan stone work, and how they got stones to fit seamlessly together. Well

IMG_9074

Not exactly seamless. Blue told me to relax.

IMG_9073

The big building (or ruin) on the grounds was the Temple of the Sun.

IMG_9072

Apparently, when the building wasn’t a ruin yet, on Solstices the sun would shine through a special hole in the roof of the central dome. The dome is pretty much gone now.

IMG_9078IMG_9081IMG_9082

After exploring the ruins for a while it was time to go. I had already decided to head for the coast, to get a little lower (and warmer). So I headed for Machala. The ride was nice and I had sunshine the whole way.IMG_9084

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

