Back into the Mountains


November 28th and 29th, 2011

Back when I met all those motorcyclist north of Chiclayo one had mentioned the valley around the city of Huaraz. It was off my route, but they said it wasn’t something I should miss, so I headed that way.

It was pretty awesome.

IMG_9191IMG_9192IMG_9193IMG_9195

The road went higher and higher. Curiosity was dealing just fine though.

IMG_9206

And the views certainly didn’t get worse.

IMG_9199IMG_9202IMG_9203

(This picture just for my sport-touring friends)

IMG_9208

As I started down into the valley the rear of the bike got all squirrely. It was flat, but re-inflated (at least for a while) with my compressor. Lucky for me I was within sight of Huaraz, but it took a while to find anyone willing to fix the tube. In the end it was a bicycle shop.

IMG_9212IMG_9215

In the end it took three patches, but we had help with the process.

IMG_9213

The tire was done as night fell, which let me find somewhere to sleep in the dark. I did manage, though my choice one was full (and it was right near the tire place too).

In the morning I confirmed the tires were still inflated (yes) and hit the road, heading back out of the south end of the valley towards Barranca.

IMG_9216IMG_9217

Of course, it never is all scenery. You never know what you are going to find on the road.

IMG_9227IMG_9228

I rather like the Incan runner statue.

Eventually the mountains fell behind,

IMG_9230

and I reached Barranca. nearby is Caral-Supe (in the Supe Valley), the oldest uncovered archeological site in the America’s. 5000 years old, only Mesopotamia has older ones. But the road is supposed to be a challenge and I decided to wait another day and try it in the morning. Worse, my rear tire was slightly leaking, not bad though. Not enough, I thought, to warrant taking it all apart again. You would think I knew better by now.

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

