Nazca and those Lines


December 1st and 2nd, 2011

More desert even as I turned inland towards Nazca

IMG_9303

Someone decided to do some offroading, starting right here. I don’t think it was intentional, but they are gone now.

I saw some protestors, or some riot police, but the two groups were never together. I reached Nazca without any problems and found a hotel that allowed camping. There was a swiss couple there in a big truck (too large for a shipping container, apparently), and we chatted some. We were all headed for Cuzco in the next couple of days, and they suggested a campsite on the edge of town. I liked the idea, it was cheap, but not being able to lock up my stuff while I was off at Machu Picchu concerned me.

After an awesome nights sleep in the hammock (that this is so comfy), I back tracked to the Nazca Lines

IMG_9315

There are two ways to see the lines. There are a few overlooks, or you can take a flight. After watching the planes loop around like dogfighters I decided to stay on the ground. Asking around I’ve never met anyone who was on one of those flights and someone didn’t end up puking.

IMG_9313

Of course, the tower didn’t look at the safe either. But up I went.

IMG_9309

That guy was a guide, who pointed out the lines in case you missed them (see them on the left?) He also had stuff to say, but no English so I didn’t get much out of it.

IMG_9306IMG_9307IMG_9308

Part of me thinks I missed out on something not taking the flight, but every time I think I remember seeing one of the planes on it’s side doing a tight figure eight over the plain, and wondering how often they get inspected.

I stayed at the lines for a couple hours, there is also a hill you can climb to look for lines.

IMG_9319IMG_9318

I didn’t see any Aliens, and I didn’t see why they would be needed either. Just me though. Back on the bike I aimed for the mountains and a Place called Machu Picchu. I figured it would take two days to get to Cuzco, where I would have to arrange the rest of the trip. That also didn’t work out.

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

