Chile is Hot


December 14th through 16th, 2011

Southern Peru and Northern Chile is desert, one of the more arid places on earth. Hot during the day, cool at night, and with weird sculptures.

IMG_9647IMG_9649

The main route south runs along the coast, and I decided to stay on that, mainly for cool ocean views like

IMG_9658IMG_9660IMG_9662

Of course, there was also a lot of this

IMG_9651

Chile meant I could easily camp again, and the beaches were good for that sort of thing, and as I rode south the terrain changed a little so I got more variety

IMG_9657

Met this little guy on the side of the road

IMG_9664

I distinctly remember taking a picture of him chatting with Blue, but there is no sign of it now. Maybe all the fresh air was messing with my brain.

As I started to get close to Antofagasta the bike started to miss and generally run rough. I quick inspection on the side of the road didn’t show any problems so I decided to get a hotel (I really needed a shower anyway) and pull my carb and air filter off for some cleaning. After cruising up and town the coastal strip a few times I found a place and got to work

IMG_9668

As usual with this sort of thing, I didn’t find anything wrong, but taking everything apart and putting it back together fixed the problem. Once I was done I went for a walk

IMG_9670

Looks like I could have camped here too.

IMG_9671IMG_9672

As the sun set I found some dinner and called it a day. Still lots more desert to go.

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

