Overland Expo Road Trip, Day Twp


I’ve slept in tent a lot in my life. I’ve even slept in tents on cement pads – but last night was awful. For reasons I don’t understand my earplugs weren’t helping with the traffic noise, and my sleeping pad kept deflating, requiring me to roll off it and blow it back up three times over night.

There wasn’t much I could do about the traffic noise, other than pay more attention to where I camped later, but St Louis has an REI, which meant I could do something about the pad.

image

My particular model was discontinued, but the replacement was covered by the refund and my REI dividend, so it worked out okay.

With that chore out of the way, I moved on to more important matters – a late breakfast.

image

I know people in the south are unimpressed by Waffle House, but for us northerners it remains an odd treat. I won’t go there all the time, but can’t resist the occasional visit when they’re around.

The shopping had put me behind schedule on the day, both taking me in the wrong direction and taking time. Not far south of St Louis I got onto US 67, which I’d been looking forward too. Sadly, it was still a four lane limited access highway (for the most part) so I didn’t gain much.

The scenery was different as I clipped the northern edge of the Ozarks, and there was much less traffic. What there was, was all big rigs, following the short route toward Little Rock.

Since there weren’t even rest areas I wandered off the highway for a bit to shoot video and walk around some.

image

Fredericktown was more or less random, and it hard to think of this area seeing battles in the Civil War, though of course it was around and involved. I just tend to focus on the eastern campaigns, like a lot of people I suppose.

image

I’ve never seen anything like this before, and would have misedyot completely except for my detour through town. Little bits of history you miss and never know.

I left Missouri and enter Arkansas (arrrgh Kansas-its where Kansas pirates all fled after the purges in the 1850s). There was a very nice visitor center, surprising on the little road, and a worker who desperately wanted to give me pamphlets. Maybe I should’ve grabbed the civil war driving tour one, but I limited myself to a map and moved on.

I’ve had wonderful weather since leaving, and its been getting steadily warmer as I work my way south, but there are still signs of the storms I’ve missed along the road.

image

There were signs of flooding along every river, fortunately only a couple houses like this one. With Wisconsin still getting snow I’d missed what was happening further south.

I decided to stop after 330 miles on the day, and found a state park near Newport AR. With lots of trees and a nice breeze I couldn’t resist the chance to hang the hammock –

image

Sadly, the breeze died and I was soon being followed by a small plague of mozzies. Probably for the best, getting me into the hammock as the sun sets. Two nights of less than perfect sleep is bad juju.

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Overland Expo Road Trip, Day Twp

  1. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make
    your point. You clearly know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence on just posting videos to your blog
    when you could be giving us something informative to read?

    Like

  2. Brad says:

    Those waffles look AMAZING!!!

    Like

  3. tony says:

    That had to be Jacksonport state park. only 15 miles from where i grew up. I know that park well! Yes it is famous for its mozzies.

    Like

Leave a Reply

