My Summer of Discontent


I’ve been back from the Overland Expo for a while now, here it is mid July already. Since that trip I’ve only been on one motorcycle trip, which I took few pictures off, going back to a friend’s house in Lower Michigan for some cooked food and conversation. I will write more about that later.

This isn’t a lot of riding for me, and I will admit to some antsyness over it. As I mentioned earlier I met someone late last  year, and while she is a huge fan of motorcycling, this summer hasn’t been the best for her (especially for taking trips of any sort). That is mostly her story, and I will let her share it. I’ve also buried myself, what spare time I’ve left myself, writing. I promised myself three books this year, but with half the time gone I haven’t managed one.

So, the truth is I don’t feel like I’ve done much this summer, though close inspection should show that isn’t true. I miss camping and lonely roads, and will be on them again (soon, I expect, since I am going to Horizon’s Unlimited events in September), but right now, typing at this keyboard, I feel like it’s been forever since I adventured.

There is other stuff too, an attempt to move to Squarespace with the website was a complete disaster, and struggling to make it work added stress and took away time I would rather have spend doing something. I get to build another site now, but that will have to wait until winter (I think).

The ride back from OX14 west also caused me to have a sore butt for the first time in years, so I am upgrading the 250’s seat, something I hadn’t wanted to do since most of the seats were valued more than the cost of the bike. I will be sure to post some pictures of that, once I get it.

I will be getting back to gear reviews as well, since that is at least part of what I am trying to do here. I have a list, just need to write it all out. Sounds so easy, don’t it?

In the mean time, keep the rubber side down and watch out for squirrels.

This entry was posted in Travel, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

